New 50p Turtles Commemorative Coin Series

From 15th August 2019, Pobjoy Mint began releasing a series of five 50p coins featuring sea turtles; the first ever British Indian Ocean Territory 50p commemorative coins. These will be released approximately every 3 weeks until November 2019. The featured species, in order of release, are:

Green Turtle (released 15th August 2019)

Hawksbill Turtle (released 11th September 2019)

Leatherback Turtle (released 7th October 2019)

Loggerhead Turtle (release date tbc)

Oliver Ridley Turtle (release date tbc)

Release dates will be announced on this page once confirmed.

These will be available for sale from Pobjoy Mint at:

All coins are sold in a capsule within a Pobjoy Mint blue pouch. For this issue, a five-coin set album is also available for separate purchase.